Home

By this time tomorrow, I will have been in Dakar for a whole week! So far, I have only been called a “toubab” by my fellow students, or “abroadies”, as our assistant academic director Bouna likes to call us. Despite this, I can safely say that I definitely have toubab status.

To me, being a toubab is more than being a white foreigner, and has become a term that encompasses all the confusion, misunderstandings, and faux-pas that I have experienced  on a daily basis since arriving in Senegal.

My toubab troubles have been a source of amusement, frustration, and everything in between, and I hope this blog will give all of you some insight into my life in Senegal.

2 thoughts on “Toubab Status

  1. What an adventure! Bridget sent me your Blog address. I am so impressed with how you are managing. Chip off the old block, I would say….not that I am calling your mom old!
    Andrea

Leave a comment